Different Ways to Get a Driver's License in Michigan for Adults and Under Legal Age

Having a driver’s license gives you the right to drive legally on the streets of Michigan. It proves that you are knowledgeable about the traffic laws and driving practices of Michigan. It is also a validation that you are skilled enough to maneuver your car to avoid unwanted road accidents.

There are various ways to get a Michigan Drivers’ License, and it usually depends on the age of the person who will apply to get the permit. If you’re 18 years old above, you need to pass a series of tests to get a license. One the other hand, there is a separate process of acquiring a license for below 18.


Step by Step Guide on Getting Michigan Drivers’ License for 18 years old and above

Get a Driver's License in Michigan For 18 years old and above, it is much easier to be a licensed driver. The only crucial part that they might encounter along the way is the examination and the skills test. If you’re an adult and you want to acquire a driver’s license, you can follow this step-by-step guide:


Step 1: Prepare for the Driver’s Test

The first thing you might want to do is prepare for the written test that you can take on any State office in Michigan. Take an online driver’s practice test to get familiar with the kind of question that you will encounter on the actual test.


Step 2: Pass the Driver’s Knowledge Test

One thing that you can do to ace the exam is to review the provided booklet of SOS called ‘What

Every Driver Should Know” includes most of the things you need to know to pass the test.


Step 3: Practice Driving Skills with a Licensed Adult

Once you passed the exam, you’ll get a permit to practice driving with an adult for up to 180 days. The Temporary Instruction Permit is the document that you need to be eligible of taking the driver’s skills test.


Step 4: Pass the Driver’s Skills Test

Only after 30 days of permitted practice driving can you take the driver’s skills test. You can take the skills test on any testing organization that the State approves. Once you passed the driver’s skills test, you will be given another certificate.


Step 5: Get your Driver’s License

Once you acquired all the needed documents such as the TIP, driver’s permit, as well as other documents, you can now go to any branch of the State of Secretary’s office to obtain your license. Be sure to bring all other legal requirements that prove your identity, citizenship, and social security number. Check out the complete list of documents that you need to bring here.

Step by Step Guide on Getting Michigan Drivers’ License for Under Legal Age

Most of the drivers that are prone to getting into road troubles are usually teenagers. As a result, Michigan’s State created a system that requires teenagers below 18 to take their graduated driver’s licensing system before they could run their cars on the road.

In the GDL system of Michigan, you will be attending two segments of driver education. There are also three licensing levels that require you to follow certain instructions on how to get those licenses.

Here is a step-by-step guide that you can follow to get your driver’s license at the age of 14 and 9 months.

Step 1: Complete Segment 1 Driver’s License Education

Before you can have a learner’s permit to begin your driving training, you must complete the two segments provided by the State of Michigan. In the Segment 1 license education, with your parent’s permission, you are required to enroll in a certified driving school that offers a driver’s program.

Once you’re enrolled, you have to finish all the requirements before continuing to the next step. Here are the requirements on segment 1:

  • You will need to attend to classroom instruction for 24 hours
  • After that, you’ll have to attend 6 hours for the driving instruction
  • You are also given four hours to observe in a training vehicle
  • There is also a written test that you need to pass after all the classroom and driving instructions

When you complete these requirements, you will have a Segment 1 Certificate of Completion for completing the first step to getting your driver’s license. However, this certification is not yet your driver’s license.


Step 2: Getting Level 1 License

Once you’re done with the Segment 1 Driver’s Education, you can apply for the level license accompanied by your parent or guardians. Level 1 license will get you the privilege to finally drive but only with adult supervision.

The first thing you need to know about getting the Level 1 License is the age preference 14 years and 9 months old. So, you have to be at that age before applying.

Here are the requirements to get your Level 1 License:

  • Must be 14 years and 9 months old
  • You must pass the physical and vision standard
  • Bring documents proving your identity and citizenship


Step 3: Moving to Segment to Driver’s Education

After having your level 1 license, you must wait for at least three months before you can apply for the Segment 2 driver’s education. Moreover, you must complete the 30 hours of driving with two hours of night driving to continue moving on to segment 2.

Here are the requirements that your need to complete on Segment 2:

  • Finish the 6 hours of classroom instruction
  • 50 hours driving with supervision with 10 hours driving at night


Step 4: Pass the Driving Skills Test

After getting your Segment 2 Certificate, you’ll have to be driving for 6 months or more to take a driving skills test. You can take the driving skills test at any authorized testing organization. Once you pass the driving skills test, you will get another certificate proving that you pass the driving test.


Step 5: Complete Level 2 License

In applying for a Level 2 license, you will have to be 16 years old and have $25 ready for the fee.

What you need to complete the Level 2 license:

  • You need to pass the physical and mental standard again, including a vision test
  • Present identification proving your identity and citizenship
  • You must be clear of any license suspension, conviction, or at-fault crashes

However, there are certain rules that you need to follow once you are eligible for the level 2 license, such as not using a cellphone while driving and driving during hours between 10 pm and 5 pm. You are also not allowed to drive with more than 1 passenger that is below 18 years old.

After completing the level 2 license and following all the restrictions for 6 months, you will be able to upgrade your license to level 3. However, you have to be 17 years old by then.