New Jersey Road Rules Test 5

Each practice test consists of multiple-choice questions that cover a wide range of driving topics, including road signs, traffic laws, and safe driving practices. After completing the test, you will receive immediate feedback on your performance and detailed explanations for each question. This allows you to track your progress and identify areas that need improvement.

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT
You should not pass another vehicle within what distance of a railroad crossing?

Question 1 of 25

The “no-zone” or blind spot of a truck or tractor trailer can extend for up to how far behind the vehicle?

Question 2 of 25

If you legally change your name from that on your driver's license/permit, you must inform the MVC within what time?

Question 3 of 25

Reckless driving can incur a prison sentence of up to…?

Question 4 of 25

What is the maximum speed limit anywhere in New Jersey (only on some interstate highways)?

Question 5 of 25

Double broken lines in the center of the road mean…?

Question 6 of 25

Who has the greatest responsibility for preventing crashes at intersections?

Question 7 of 25

You must not park within what distance of a stop sign?

Question 8 of 25

On a Special Learner Permit, the holder may not drive between the hours of…?

Question 9 of 25

You must yield to public transport buses…?

Question 10 of 25

Your vehicle should be equipped with a horn that can be heard in normal conditions for at least…?

Question 11 of 25

You must not park in which of these locations?

Question 12 of 25

On packed snow at 40 mph, you should leave the following distance of how many car lengths?

Question 13 of 25

When approaching a horse rider or horse-drawn vehicle, you must reduce your speed to a maximum of…?

Question 14 of 25

If you all driving on a clear road in a city at 25 mph, you should be aware of everything up to…?

Question 15 of 25

Adult supervising drivers for Special Learning Permit holders must be at least what age?

Question 16 of 25

If you refuse to take a breath test in New Jersey you will be subjected to a violation surcharge of $1000 per year for…?

Question 17 of 25

Wearing a seatbelt increases your chances of surviving a crash by…?

Question 18 of 25

The best way to reduce the risk of a crash caused by drinking and driving is…?

Question 19 of 25

Leaving the scene of a crash in which personal injury has occurred can add how many points to your license?

Question 20 of 25

A driver under 21 found guilty of purchasing alcohol in New Jersey can be suspended for up to…?

Question 21 of 25

Which of these is affected by alcohol?

Question 22 of 25

A good rule of thumb is that your following distance should be one car length for every…?

Question 23 of 25

All your tires must have a tread of at least what depth?

Question 24 of 25

It is illegal for anyone to drive in New Jersey with a blood alcohol content at or over…?

Question 25 of 25


 

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Essential Information For NJ Written Driver Knowledge Test

Drivers Permit Test NJAre you fond of driving? Do you wish to know all about the drivers permit test NJ? Here is an article tailor-made for you. If you want to start driving on the streets or on the highways of New Jersey, you must have either a learner’s permit or a driver’s license. The process of acquiring this license begins with a written driving test. This article provides you with all the important details that you need to know before you sit for the test. So, read along to find out all your answers!

What is the NJ Permit Test?

If you are applying for a driver’s license, you should have a restricted permit first. If you are 16 or 17, you can easily acquire a special learner permit. To do this, you need to do two things. First, you should enroll in a driving school, and second, you must pass the written test.

However, if you are over 17 years old, it is not mandatory for you to join a driving school. However, you will still need to pass the written test.

What is the format of the driver’s permit test in NJ?

There will be a total of 50 questions in the written test. You will be given options for all of them. To pass, you will need to score at least 80%. This means you should at least answer 40 out of 50 questions correctly to pass the test.

What is the test based on?

The written permit test in New Jersey is based on the state’s official driver’s manual. It contains detailed explanations of traffic laws, road signs, and road rules, as well as important practices for safe driving.

What to prepare for the test?

To pass the test and acquire the license, you need to know the traffic laws in New Jersey in detail. You should know enough about traffic laws and be able to identify the different traffic signs and rules by their shapes, symbols, or colors.

How to prepare for the written test?

If you want to get a good score on the test and pass with flying colors, then you need to have a fair idea about the traffic rules, road signs, safe driving practices, and road rules of New Jersey. To do this, you have to read the official driver’s manual for New Jersey.

All the questions of the test will be based on this manual. So, a good grasp of the material in the manual is important.

After reading the manual from cover to cover, start reviewing the sample tests. There are several online websites offering sample test papers to help you out in your preparation. Go through as many of them as you can. The test papers will give you an overall idea about the questions the written test asks.

Fix a time and answer all the questions within the stipulated time. After you submit your responses, the website will instantly show you the results. Regular practice will minimize your mistakes and increase your confidence.

Where should you take the written permit test?

You need to take the written permit test at the local MVC office. The list of the MVC offices in your nearby area is available on the official website of the state of New Jersey. You can visit the website, go through the list of offices, and choose the one that is most convenient for you to visit and take the test.

Are the written tests available in foreign languages?

The test is available in many foreign languages, such as English, Chinese (Mandarin), Spanish, Polish, Russian, Arabic, French, Korean, Portuguese, and Japanese. Only two options are offered for the oral tests: Spanish and English.

Do you need to make an appointment for the test?

All test takers need to make an appointment for the written test. You can make advance appointments for up to 30 days. You need to visit the official website of the state of New Jersey.

Is there any exam fee?

You do not need to pay any fee for taking the exam. However, you will be charged $10 for the kind of permit you require. An additional amount of $4 will also be charged for the decals.

What do you do after you pass the NJ written knowledge test?

Once you pass the permit test, you must wait six months. Only after six months will you be able to schedule the driving exam. You can use these six months to practice driving under the guidance of an expert and licensed driver.

If your age is 16, you must enroll in a driving school and take a full-fledged driving course. Once this waiting period of 6 months is over, you can apply for the provisional license.

What do you do if you fail the NJ permit test?

If you fail, there is a provision to retake the written test immediately. However, that might not be of much help. Failing repeatedly will lead to more frustration and decrease your motivation to study and prepare further. So, you should study hard and prepare well before applying for the test again.

One thing you should remember is that if you are not able to pass the test three consecutive times, you need to wait at least six months before applying again.

How long is the permit test valid?

You can take the knowledge test as many times as you want within 180 days. However, you need to wait 7 days before retaking it. The test receipt that is valid for 180 days must be renewed only after it expires. You will be charged $125 for the renewal.